Performance. Innovation.

Developing People, Enhancing Process, Enabling Technology

To apply for the (CAPM)® certification exam, you will have to fulfill two eligibility conditions defined by the PMI.

There is no exception to this rule; if you do not fulfill these requirements, you cannot apply for the (CAPM)® exam.

These two eligibility requirements fall into two categories:

  1. Education
  2. Experience/Training

This is the first requirement.

To be eligible for the (CAPM)® exam, you must hold at least a high school diploma, or any global equivalent education.

Now if you have project management experience for at least 1,500 hours, you don’t have to attend any training program. You can apply for the (CAPM)® exam right away.

However, if you are a fresher or have no experience in project management, you will have to attend 23 contact hours of formal project management education. Once you earn these contact hours, you can apply for the (CAPM)® certification exam.

Here are two pieces of advice:

a.) The first advice is to try to get your contact hours training program through any registered education provider. The course content for any R.E.P. is reviewed and approved by the PMI, and in the case of audit you won’t need to show the content to the PMI to verify your claim. However, in case of any other method, you may have to show your content and wait for approval.

b.) The second advice is to get 35 contact hours instead of 23 contact hours. Although the (CAPM)® requires you to attend only 23 contact hours, if in the future you decide to apply for the (PMP)® exam, you will have to attend another program to complete the 35 contact hours.

Therefore, it is in your best interest to attend a 35 contact hours’ program and prepare yourself f or both certifications.

The (CAPM)® exam is your first step in project management. The eligibility requirements of this exam are more lenient than the PMP exam, because the (CAPM)® exam is designed for entry-level professionals or professionals who have very little project work experience. If you are a diploma holder with no experience you will have attend the training. If you have worked in project management for at least 1,500 hours you won’t be required to attend any training.

This post was all about the eligibility of the (CAPM)® certification exam requirements.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • When do I have to renew my CAPM certification?

    The certification cycle for the CAPM certification is five years. During the fifth year of the cycle, you move into a renewal period of one year. During this period, you must re-take and pass the exam (before your certification expires).

  • Are Professional Development Units required to renew my CAPM certification?

    No. You simply re-take the exam which includes PMBOK® Guide updates that have occurred over the last five years.

  • What are the benefits to renewing my CAPM certification?

    The CAPM certification acknowledges the professional dedication of individuals who contribute to project teams from many different perspectives. You maintain your certification by studying PMBOK® Guide updates thereby assuring your employer that you have stayed current in your knowledge of project management.

  • How do I renew my CAPM certification?

    The CAPM Handbook details the steps for certification renewal. Please consult the handbook.

  • How do I renew my CAPM certification after it expires?

    If your CAPM certification expires and you wish to renew, you will have to go through the full application process again as though you are a new candidate. Please consult the CAPM Handbook for details on the application process.

  • What is the difference between my CAPM renewal period and my CAPM exam eligibility period?

    Your renewal period starts 12 months before your certification expiration date. This is the fifth year of your CAPM certification cycle. This means that if your certification cycle began on 15 September 2007, your renewal period begins on 15 September 2011. You must apply for renewal and pass the exam by 14 September 2012. Your exam eligibility period is always one year, during which you may take your certification exam a maximum of three times. If your certification expires during your one-year exam eligibility period, you may still test but you do not need to complete the full application as is required in the initial CAPM application submission.